Collection Carl Schuricht

  • Production companies: Altus Music
  • Broadcaster / Distributor: Altus Music
  • Type of use: Commercial
  • This collection, instituted in late 2009 by ALTUS MUSIC, features concerts conducted by Carl Schuricht, mainly with the National Orchestra of the RTF and ORTF, between 1955 and 1965. The collection is regularly enriched with releases in boxed sets of 1 or 2 CDs.

    It currently comprises (by order of release date):

    • Symphony No. 7 – Bruckner
    • Symphony No. 3 – Beethoven / Tragic Overture – Brahms / Violin Concerto - Mozart
    • Symphony No. 5 – Beethoven / Piano Concerto – Schumann / Euryanthe (Overture) – Weber
    • Symphony No. 2 – Mahler / Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen - Mahler
    • Symphony No. 7 – Beethoven / Tristan und Isolde – Wagner / Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen – Mahler
    • Symphony No. 1 – Brahms / Concerto Grosso a Quattro Chori – Stölzel / Violin Concerto – Bach / Rondo for Violin and String Ensemble – Schubert /
    • Coriolanus / Piano Concerto No. 3 – Beethoven / Symphony No. 4 – Brahms


    Carl Schuricht in brief

    Carl Schuricht was born in Danzig, then part of Germany, in 1880. Initially a musician and composer, he very quickly became a guest conductor of orchestras throughout Europe. Schubert, Schumann, Brahms, Bruckner and Mahler formed the core of his repertory.

    Exacting in technical matters and tempestuous in his execution, this nomadic conductor was driven by a youthful dynamism, always carefully controlled, up to a very advanced age. Greatly admired by the very demanding Sergiu Celibidache, Schuricht has left memorable recordings with a range of orchestras (including those of Vienna, Stuttgart, Paris and Besançon).

    Carl Schuricht remains legendary for the remarkable balance he achieved in his work, and his impassioned interpretation of symphonies.

We are here to help you
  • A question?
  • Do you need help with
  • your search?